Ebooks News

The Heavy

17 View(s), published at 2013, written by Dara-Lynn Weiss, published by Random House Australia
The Heavy

The heavy by Dara-Lynn Weiss For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother's unflinching memoir about helping her seven-year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting. When a.... Published date on: 2013 with total page: 237 pages. Publisher of The Heavy is Random House Australia.

For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother's unflinching memoir about helping her seven-year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting. When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss's daughter, Bea, obese at the age of seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how can a woman with her own food and body issues - not to mention poor eating habits - successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity? In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process - complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humour, and some surprising strategies - Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids' self-esteem. Compounding the challenge were eating environments - from school to restaurants to birthday parties - that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgements from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for the parents. She was criticised as readily for enabling Bea's condition as she was for enforcing the discipline and, yes, the deprivation necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing. The damned if you do/damned if you don't predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the centre of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity. A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss's success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

Are you interested to read this ebook the heavy? If you have read an ebook before don't be hasitate to leave review about the book the heavy. But otherwise, you can registar/sign up before downloding this pdf book. We have huge database of ebooks in our library. If you bought an ebook than you want another ebook we suggest you to become our library member.

What do you get from becoming member in our library? 1.You can read free a lot of books from our database. 2.You can use any kind of ebook reader available on market, because our book available in various format. 3.You able to find your ebook fastly through our library because we put ebooks based on categories such as adventure, art, law, social, health, medical, science, romance, fiction, non-fiction and etc.

Tags: